Uncategorized

Poetry: Breast Cancer doesn’t happen until 38.

Breast Cancer doesn’t happen until 38.

20150601_070100

Pounding in my head.

Don’t want to leave my bed.

Hair askew.

Dream anew

of time when I was not half dead.

+

I’ve set my goals.

And changed them since.

(One can’t be a jockey

if the saddle won’t fit)

+

“Sure I can”

had changed to “If I am able”

This disease

has caused me to be socially unstable.

+

To better suit your needs

we have schedules and rules.

So people won’t abuse

We want everyone treated fairly.

+

What happened to me?

I wanted to have a mamogram

but it seemed to the hospital

I wanted to scam.

+

Breast Cancer awareness month.

Lovely discount.

“Go see them”

I was told.

+

In my family,on both sides,

breast cancer is rampant.

We are survivors.

We have pride.

+

Based on this,

and getting sick

I tried to an appointment.

I tried.

+

After I hung up

I cried.

+

I was too young.

They’d take me at 38.

I was 34 at the time.

+

I have been diagnosed

with thyroid cancer.

My mother had breast cancer.

cancer.

+

But I was denied.

+

A year passed since that time.

The Lord blessed my husband

with a blessing

from the farm.

+

I needed vaccines so I could volunteer.

and go to my kids school events

and annoy them

with my cheer.

+

A physical I did get.

Then the doctor

sent me to get

a mammogram.

+

I didn’t try for a discount.

It wasn’t Breast Cancer awareness month.

It was to another hospital.

No Problem in.

No Problem out.

+

Now an ultrasound to find out what this LUMP is all about.

Standard

Leave a Reply

