Uncategorized

Book Review: The Little White Horse by E. Goudge

Gracie’s Review.

Author: Elizabeth Goudge.

Illustrator: Stefanie Rosenfeld.

Feelings: It’s a GREAT book.

Problem: Maria Merryweather sees a little white horse, with a horn sticking out of his forehead, and finds a mystery behind it.

Solution: With her best friend Robin, she finds out the truth.

Book Review

Book Review

When reading this book three others books came to mind.  It has been a long time since I sat down and read them.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

Under the Lilacs by Louisa May Alcott

Anne of Green Gables written by  L.M. Montgomery

In other words, descriptive narration with fauna and flora and the use of dictionary words that most of us don’t know.  I liked it.  It was slow going because I had to use parts of my brain that I haven’t used in years.  Marmaduke Scarlet “May, I trouble you, young Mistress, to put your hand within the aperture just below you to withdraw the required condiment and to bring it with you when you come within to make your toilet in preparation for the assimilation of the nourishment of which by this time you must stand in dire need?”  (Which may be the longest sentence in the book. Pg. 203)

Because these works were similar in verbose, I went to the copy page and discovered that the copyright was 1946. Then I looked at the biography and found that she was born in 1900.  Ah, she was born during the time of penmanship, just like the rest of the other authors.

And because of this book, I subconsciously took the horse’s name and suggested it to my daughter when she got her birthday present.

Periwinkle and Rose

Our new family member is a male Holland Lop named Periwinkle.  My husband is happy. Bun Bun is a male. Periwinkle is a male.  No babies.

And being the eternal romantic, my favorite scene in the book was the dialog of the 13 year old heroine and her shepherd boy. Pg. 147.”How can I go down on one knee when I’m in the middle of my tea?” demanded Robin. “And how can I do it in a gentle voice when I feel as though I had a roaring lion inside me?  If I didn’t roar, I should burst,”  This book was a good read for my brain and I liked it.

If I didn’t write, I should burst.

Standard

Leave a Reply

